it is for freedom that i have been set free.

After two weeks of 2014, it’s pretty easy to spot where I’ve already failed.

New Year’s resolutions? Broken.

Those promises I made to God? Unkept.

All those things I was convicted of and said I would do something about? Still Undone.

I still believe in being enslaved to sin. I am still too easily captivated by broken things. I still fail to love God with all of my heart, and all of my soul, and all of my strength, and all of my mind.

But that is not the narrative I want to communicate. That’s not the story to be told.

The story of me loving God is incomplete. It is messed up. It is only a noisy gong. It speaks of failure. It speaks of half-done works and half-met promises. It goes up and it goes down. It reaches for things only when it desires. It is boring to read. It is arrogant. It doesn’t captivate. It doesn’t transform. It is sometimes, and arguably many times, nothing.

But the story of God loving me is amazingly complete. It is perfect. It is a world-class symphony orchestra. It does not fail. It brings all things to completion. It is faithful and it is constant. It bears and endures all things. It is vibrant and life-giving. It is not proud. It is captivating and useful for teaching. It is life-changing. IT IS EVERYTHING.

“In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.” ~ 1 John 4:10

God is dedicated to me. He holds all my promise and hope. In him is all of my conviction and in him I can do all things. I have been liberated by love. He has given me everything I own and everything I need. I cannot love God by the virtue of me loving God. My love is merely redamancy – I love in return. I love God only because he has loved me first. And in that is freedom.

AND IT IS FOR FREEDOM THAT I’VE BEEN SET FREE.

~Kyle

About Spice Up Your Life With Some Ginger

A ginger just trying to figure out life.
This entry was posted in Hearing in the Whisper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

