Glow

New Year’s Resolutions are somewhat funny to me. Once a year, we set out to write a goal that we think will define us for the next 365 days. Usually, we try, we fail, and we start the cycle all over again.
This year, I went through some of the fairly typical ones… work out more, don’t waste as much time on Facebook, become batman… and I realized that something was wrong.

Every resolution was something for me.

Now don’t get me wrong, I am all for creating yourself into the best person that you can be. I fully believe that we are capable of far more than we can imagine, and we should want to push ourselves towards those goals.

However, I don’t think we can get there on our own. I think we need others, whether we want their approval, their assistance, their love, or anything else.
So I started thinking about the people in my life that have done the most to help create me into the person I want to become. I went through teachers, mentors, parents, friends, everyone.

Finally, I realized it. Practically every person who has inspired me has lived a life full of encouragement. They chose to invest in people far beyond what was expected. They chose to love when it wasn’t easy. They chose to motivate rather than decimate. They chose to change lives.

So my resolution this year is to be far more encouraging. So often in our lives, we meet someone, enjoy their company for a bit, and then continue on our own path.  But when we start encouraging, we can start transforming lives.

I have seen this many many times in my life. I firmly believe I am only here because someone took the time to reach into my life and encourage me to become the person they saw glimmers of. I am only here become someone encouraged me to reach for my dreams. I am only here because someone encouraged me to make it one more day.

I want to become a person that values building up others above all else. Hebrews 3:13 says, “But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called “Today,” so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.”

I want to be someone who glows with encouragement. I want to be able to show others what others see in them. Most importantly, however, is I want you to do it with me. Encouragement is a really easy thing to pay forward. All it takes is one encouraging comment, and you both leave feeling better. If we could find a way to start constantly encouraging those around us, we might find the encouragement we need ourselves.

Friends, just because it is past January 1st doesn’t mean that you can make an impact on your life going forward. If you made a resolution that is for yourself, great. Starting changing yourself into the person you want to be, one day at a time. I hope you never need the encouragement to keep going, but I think you might.

This year, and for the rest of my life, I want to encourage people daily. It is going to be very tough. There are days where I can’t even encourage myself to do what I need to do, much less encourage those around me.

But I want to help others glow. I challenge you to do the same.

adam

About Spice Up Your Life With Some Ginger

A ginger just trying to figure out life.
This entry was posted in Be Thou My Vision and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

