Blameless

It is so easy to blame.

So easy.

Today, I was walking down Sheridan, and I witnessed a fairly significant bike-pedestrian collision. Almost immediately, people began yelling at the biker, blaming him for not paying attention.

Today, I was working, and a man called blaming me for his travel plans getting screwed up.

Today, I overslept. I blamed my alarm clock.

Blame seems to be so prevalent, we don’t even know that we are doing it any longer.  But wow, do we love to blame.

I think that often times, we blame because in that moment we feel more perfect than others.  It is so easy to say, “Wow, I am a way better biker than that idiot,” or “At least I can do my job like I am supposed to,” or even, “I wouldn’t have been so sleepy if my stupid alarm went off.” Chasing perfection, one minor moment at a time.

When does it stop?

In John 8:3-11, the Pharisees drag a woman in front of Jesus who was literally caught in the middle of adultery. Whenever I read this story, I imagine the Pharisees literally beaming with pride about how they had stopped this sin in its tracks. The grins on their faces. I imagine the woman standing in the midst of these high priests, trying to cover herself, eyes welling in tears and shame. To every onlooker, the Pharisees looked perfect, compared to this quivering, nude, shamed, adulteress.

And Jesus just stands there, and without a word, crouches on the ground. Drawing in the sand, he asks the perfect Pharisee to throw the first stone. Then he keeps writing.
I would have loved to see the immediate reactions after He spoke. The Pharisees grins going to confusion, then reflection, then guilt, then shame. The woman, waiting for the stones to rain down upon her. Jesus, who continues writing.

And then: nothing. Absolutely nothing. The Pharisees walk away.
By speaking, Jesus shifted the entire conversation. In that situation, everyone had a right to blame the woman, to feel more perfect, to heap shame and blame upon her every action. Jesus speaks, and the blame immediately shifts.

I for one would love to know what he was writing in the sand. Was it consoling words to the woman? Was it a reminder of some of the sins of the Pharisees? Was it his own prayer?

If I could read what it said, I imagine it would say one thing over and over:

You Are Not Blamed.
You Are Not Blamed.
You Are Not Blamed.

and finished with:

You Are Blameless In Me.
What if we took the role of Jesus and stopped blaming? What if we stopped feeling more perfect in ourselves by blaming others?

What if, gasp, we loved?

The story finishes with Jesus saying to the woman, “Woman, where are your accusers? Did no one condemn you?” She said, “No one, Lord.” Jesus said, “Neither do I condemn you. Go your way. From now on, sin no more.”

And then he walks away, leaving the woman standing there, alone, blameless in Christ.

Adam


About Spice Up Your Life With Some Ginger

A ginger just trying to figure out life.
This entry was posted in Hearing in the Whisper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blameless

  1. joecruzmn says:

    I have heard that this verse is in correlation with the writing on the sand. It is suppose to be a prophecy of Jesus. Jeremiah 17:13 O Lord, the hope of Israel, All who forsake You shall be ashamed. “Those who depart from Me Shall be written in the earth, Because they have forsaken the Lord, The fountain of living waters.” He would show himself to the Pharisees to let it be known it was he who they were seeking for their messiah

  2. julch says:

    Awesome writing Adam….everyone has different ideas of what Jesus was writing in the dirt and I love your interpretation.

  3. adam and eve’s first response to being called out on their sin was blame. “that woman you gave me…” “that serpent you allowed in the garden…” we are blameless in Christ, hallelujah, praise Him, but when we get to blame our own junk on someone/something else, we don’t have to deal with it. i think one of the first steps toward restoration is owning up to our crap, then leaving it all at the foot of the cross where it belongs.because Jesus has every right to blame us for what he suffered, but He doesn’t. once we realize how much blame we should shoulder, we can realize how much blame HE TOOK ON FOR US. so that we could be blameless. praise Him, hallelujah.

Leave a Reply

