Vision.

As I continue to anticipate what God is going to do this year at Northwestern, there are a set of truths speaking to me more strongly than ever: God is always working. God is with us ALWAYS. And God is able “to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us” [Ephesians 3:20 ESV]. It is with these truths written upon my heart that I am more excited for this year above all others.

When God is the root of my vision; when God intersects every single aspect of my life; when I choose to see God in everything I do, everything I see, and everyone I meet – THAT’S where I encounter the joy that he has for me. This summer I went on a two-month missions trip in Kodiak, Alaska. I really feel like God captured my heart there in ways stronger than ever before and laid out his desires for my life in ways that have never been more clear. I’m so grateful to the guys in The Foundry because they helped support me both financially and by prayer, and, with numerous others, paved the way for me to experience basically the best time of my entire life. But that’s a story for another time, if you wish to hear about it.

Now I’m back at Northwestern University for my sophomore year. Week one of classes is over and my burdens, responsibilities, and the mundane things of this life are already trying to weigh down upon my heart. It’s already hard for me not to let the power of months of amazing times with Christ this summer to be overshadowed by just one hard week. It’s trying to sap my energy. It’s trying to steal my joy. It’s trying to make me forget the goodness of God. It’s trying to lie to me that living for myself is the best way to live. BUT I AM SO THANKFUL FOR THE POWER OF JESUS. To flee from temptation. To be THIRD. (God [Father, Son, and Holy Spirit] First and Others Second). To love recklessly in the overflow of His love because God first loved me. To know that every good and perfect gift is from God. To understand how I need Jesus more every hour, every minute, and every second. To understand how to rely on the Spirit in everything that I do. It is through the same Spirit within me that raised Jesus from the dead that I find my vision for this year and Northwestern. And it is my prayer that it strongly intersects with God’s perfect vision, and the vision of my other brothers and sisters on campus.

A huge precedent for me was set this year when I attended the Passion Conference in Atlanta, Georgia from January 1-4. I went with about 64,999 other followers of Jesus. It was AMAZING. As a direct result, I felt that God was going to move in amazing ways in 2013. Well guess what, THERE ARE STILL THREE MONTHS for the God who does more than we can ever hope or imagine to bring His Kingdom from heaven to earth. And that’s what it’s all about. I hope to be constantly sharing stories here on this blog about times of amazing worship, amazing healing, and hearts being transformed by the love of God. Rather than asking God to be involved in my efforts to glorify Him, I want to be involved with Him and His efforts.

There’s a part of Northwestern’s fight song that goes like this:

Spread far the fame of our fair name

My vision for this year is that we would

spread far the fame of Jesus’ great name.

That’s part of my vision for this year. And more than sharing my vision I want to hear about the vision that God has placed upon the hearts of others. So, please share with us. I hope this was encouraging.

With Blessings and Love,

Kyle

 

About Spice Up Your Life With Some Ginger

A ginger just trying to figure out life.
This entry was posted in Be Thou My Vision and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

